Skip to content

This Space Reserved for Something Clever

October 26, 2010

I feel bad because I haven’t written anything for a while but my writing abilities are pretty much in the toilet right now. I’m trying to quit smoking, I’m on the patch, and the constant nicotine leeching into my skin makes me twitchy like a rabbit on crack. Without the patch, I feel like punching the wall or setting my cat on fire. With the patch, my powers of concentration are destroyed and I can’t sit still, but at least I’m not irritable and crazy.

Either way, this is about all the coherent writing I can really manage right now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 12:52 pm

    write a poem about it. šŸ˜‰

  2. Annie Marion permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:52 pm

    You are doing a great thing. Do what you need to do. We’ll wait for you to be yourself again. Hopefully soon. Take care sweetie.

  3. thejaggedman permalink
    October 26, 2010 10:51 pm

    I wish you well on the path of recovering your health and wealth. You will accomplished both by not smoking( see last line of comment on the recovering wealth part). I quit smoking May 15th back in 1982, though I took up cussing like a sailor shortly there after, I know it can be done. I am sure as well that the cat thanks you for not setting it on fire but with cats who knows for sure. Oh by the way I paid around 65 cents a for a pack of Marlboro’s back the day…ouch!

  4. October 30, 2010 4:54 am

    I have been tracking your blog for a month. Couldn’t read too much of it, unfortunately. Still trying, though.

    I agree with ‘southernmusings’ but how are you going to write a poem or something else without smoking? I mean, it’s a very very good idea. A brave choice, to quit smoking… But there are also some habits or materials that a writer truely attached/bound/depend with/on. It’s like an arm and some of course can’t drive a car without using shift.

    And I of course am so so sorry because of my bad English. It’s not that easy to write your opinions in such foreign languages, since your thoughts are also foreign, by having no shape such as letters or symbols and you can sometimes have problems on mentioning them in your very own language šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

