Skip to content

See Down the Street Here Comes Monsieur Banjo Full of His Own Conceit

March 8, 2010
tags:

No one who writes for a living likes to think of themselves as being a bad writer. We’re all the best, in our own minds (except when we’re blocked and are writing trash and we hate ourselves and want to scream and cry).

My own conceit as a writer goes a little farther than assuming that I’m good. I think I’m funny, as well. I even laugh at my own jokes sometimes while I write…and that is not an easy admission for me to make. As soon as I catch myself laughing, I look around to see if anyone else noticed, which is of course insane as I am the only one in my apartment during the day. Except the cat. And he has a low opinion of me as a stinky, lumbering human no matter what I do.

Because I do tend to laugh at my own jokes, my assumption has always been that somewhere there must be another person who thinks I’m as funny as I do. Maybe I’m wrong, though. Maybe my sense of humor is so obscure and twisted that no one else on earth can find it within themselves to chuckle at my work.

And maybe thinking that I’m unique in any way is a type of conceit, as well.

Either way, funny or not, I will keep writing my stupid little jokes and embarrassing myself by laughing at them. At very least, I can say I enjoy what I do.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maggi Sanderson permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:14 am

    I think you have a great sense of humor and are very funny. Keep laughing — very much out loud!

Leave a Reply

