Skip to content

Stop Picking at It and Leave It Alone

February 5, 2010

Ever since I started this blog and began writing on Suite 101, I can’t tear myself away from the computer. I’m a high strung girl by nature and perhaps just a bit on the obsessive side. I want to succeed as a writer, and online success is measured in page views. So now that I have the blog and the online magazine work, I spend my day checking for hits.

Of course, being just a tiny little bit obsessive, I can’t check my stats once in the morning and once at night. I just have to know what’s going on, even when it’s nothing. Ergo, every time I have a free second, I’ll take a peek at my dashboard here on wordpress and then mosey over to Suite to check my page views there (I also do gain small revenues over there so I’m constantly checking to see if those have been updated, as well, even though I know they only do it once a day.)

Checking my stats every few minutes is hardly productive. If I had 225 views over on Suite five minutes ago, it’s doubtful that that number will have gone up much since I last checked. I know that my blog isn’t going to disappear if I don’t look at it for a day. My Suite 101 articles are not going to all be taken down by the editors, either. Nor will my computer suddenly explode in a puff of foul smelling smoke.

I know, in other words, that my fanatical check-ins are unnecessary and that I’m actually causing myself more stress by behaving this way. It works out this way in other avenues of life, as well. I know that when I put those steaks in the pan to sear, I need to NOT poke at them immediately because they need to form a crust so they don’t stick to the pan. But I poke. I know when I get sick that I should just go to the doctor and not spend hours online trying to diagnose myself. But oh my sweet Jebus, I have numbness in my extremities and a funny rash and there’s this bruise on my leg of unknown origin…I must have leprosy. Of course I don’t, really…although it would be kind of cool if I did. Then I would just need a quick anti-fungal treatment, and in the meantime I could tell people I was a leper. I bet being a leper is a good way to find out who your real friends are…

So the point of all this is that I need to learn to leave things alone. I have a friend coming to visit me this weekend and I am not going to look at this blog or Suite 101 at all. I’m not going to think about how many cents per day I’m making over on Suite. I’m not going to worry about whether or not people are viewing all my clever, witty observations in this blog. I’m going to relax and have a fun weekend.

Or maybe I’ll have a nervous breakdown instead. Only time will tell…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 2:01 pm

    Oh my goodness… I do the same thing!!! I’m completely obssessed! I will sit at work and hit the F5 key like every 10 seconds. (Not really.. THAT would be crazy. It’s more like every 10 minutes… Ok fine 2 minutes.) But I totally understand. I hope you made it through the weekend without going completely crazy with curiousity.

    • February 10, 2010 2:06 pm

      Lol, I didn’t. I covertly checked anyway. But not until Sunday night, so I made almost all the way through without being insane and obsessive. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who is a bit…attached to the number of hits on her blog.

Leave a Reply

