Skip to content

A Bout of Optimism…But Don’t Get Excited, It Won’t Last Long

February 4, 2010

I feel like there has been a great deal of complaining lately. It is easier for me to write about things that are wrong. When it comes to writing a positive review of something, I often find that I don’t have a lot to say. “It was good. Yes. It was good.” There’s a lot about the writing profession that makes me want to yell or cry or go on a killing spree and drink the blood of my enemies. But there are good things, too, I swear. Here are some of them:

  1. Since I write nonfiction articles about everything from mixing drinks to the new Star Trek movie, I get to do a lot of things for “work” that have nothing to do with writing. I get to watch movies and dye yarn, and it all qualifies as research.
  2. I make my own schedule. If I want to take a day off, I can. I don’t have to call in and fake an illness. “Hello, me (dramatic coughing fit)? I’m sick today, I can’t come into work.” If I want to stay up until two a.m. writing, I can. I’m not saying I DO, but I could. So there.
  3. Reading also qualifies as working, which is fantastic.
  4. I tend to learn something new every day in the course of doing research. Yesterday I wrote an article about beer and food pairings and learned all kinds of neat stuff.
  5. I can drink all the coffee and smoke all the cigarettes I want.
  6. People kind of expect writers to be eccentric and crazy, and also potentially drunk. I never have to apologize for my odd behavior again.
  7. People also think you must be really smart when you tell them you write for a living. Except for people who are smart themselves. They ask all kinds of annoying questions, like “Where have you been published?”
  8. I get to work with a kitty on my lap. This is pleasant in all sorts of ways.
  9. If I show up to work naked, no one cares.
  10. I have always wanted to be a writer. I am “living the dream,” to use a nauseating cliche. How awesome is that?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. roz permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:44 am

    now i want to drop out of grad school and write for a living.
    particularly for reasons 5 and 6.

    • February 5, 2010 12:11 pm

      Scientists can be crazy and eccentric, too, though.
      I guess it’s not so good for them to be drunk.

Leave a Reply

