Skip to content

Two Phrases About the Writing Business That Are Completely True But Nonetheless Make Me Want to Cut Someone, Possibly With A Hacksaw, Every Time I Hear Them Repeated

January 29, 2010
  1. “You’ve got to pay your dues.”
  2. “Get your name out there.”
5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 6:55 pm

    I agree. Sounds like a football coach to me.

    Dr. B

  2. January 29, 2010 10:17 pm

    It DOES sound like a football coach. But at least there are no indecipherable diagrams full of little circles and x’s accompanying these statements.
    Then I WOULD cut someone.
    No, no I wouldn’t.
    Violence is wrong. 🙂

  3. drtombibey permalink
    January 30, 2010 7:10 am

    As yes. Through art we can find the tranquility to not strangle the daylights out of someone who well deserves that fate.

    Dr. B

  4. January 31, 2010 3:04 pm

    Ah, but you are starting to “get your name out there” by blogging … oh, no, wait … your blog doesn’t reveal your name. 🙂

    • January 31, 2010 6:08 pm

      Well, I did say these were true statements. I do have to get my name out there…I just hate hearing it over and over again, particularly from people who are not writers themselves.

Leave a Reply

